Learning {Re}imagined: Initial Reflections

Last night my copy of ‘Learning {Re}imagined’ by Graham Brown-Martin arrived. Although I’ve only read the first few pages, I’m already excited by the content. Already, huge questions have been raised; thought provoking arguments debated; and forward thinking ideas brought to the fore.

Here are just a few:

‘Do we measure what is easy or what is important?’

This question occurs as a result of the introduction of this book as based on qualitative research. For me, it relates to many conversations I am part of at the moment with regards to new systems of targeting and assessment.

A ‘thought piece’ considering the future of education in the year 2030 leads nicely into an interview with Seth Godin, which opens with a consideration of the purpose of education and schooling. Here, the dichotomy between what children of the future need and what schools provide is reflected upon. At this point, as a teacher, I am forced to evaluate the curriculum I deliver and the opportunities for skill development I provide to the pupils in my care.

By Graham Brown-Martin:

‘You are the mentor or teacher of a five-year-old child entering full-time education today in 2014 [2015]. What are the skills that you should equip that child with to navigate [the] future.’

And Seth Godin:

‘Why aren’t we going to nine-year-olds and saying, “Here is a problem. No one knows the answer. Come up with your best approach.”?’

Who goes on to propose that:

‘School is for problem solving. School is for mentoring and coaching and teaching me where my fear is and getting me to befriend it so I can figure out how to be in the business of leading and connecting and solving interesting problems. I don’t need to know the capital of Alaska. It doesn’t matter.’

These are the types of questions, thoughts and ideas that fuel me to explore new possibilities in my teaching and learning practice. They are the issues that we must contemplate if we are to drive our education system into the future.

Leave a Reply

