Take a break…

Media_http1bpblogspot_edfxd

It’s been a while since I last updated my blog. In fact, it’s been a while since I’ve written anything remotely academic or educational. So as the beginning of the end dawns upon me (the start of my fourth and final year on the BEd programme), I thought it was about time I got back into the swing of things.

The fact that my blog and twitter feed have been collecting digital cobwebs for the last 4 months signals an interesting thought with regards to my own personal learning. During term time, both were a way for me to condense my own understanding of concepts and ideas that were being discussed in lectures and seminars. However, over the summer it seems my learning has halted…in terms of contemplating aspects of the BEd modules.

The point I am trying to reach (I think) is that I seem to relate the concept and process of ‘learning’ with being at university. And over the course of my schooling I have relayed ‘learning’ as being a process that only really happens within an institution – be it the physical space, or the ever increasing online spaces provided by institutions for learning outside the walls of the classroom. It is almost as if institutions can constrain learning to specific moments in time, whereas really, we learn everywhere, all the time (depending on what we believe ‘learning’ to be).

Learning is lifelong. And all experiences can be valuable. And whilst I have spent less time contemplating academic issues, I have still been working hard and learning from other experiences. This is the same for many school children as they return to the classroom. I think it is important to harness such experiences and utilise them in the learning environment of the classroom.

I need to consider this further.

Leave a Reply

